MINUTES FOR JANUARY 6, 2020 ORGANIZATION MEETING VALLEY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

The Organization Meeting of the Valley Township Board of Supervisors was held on Monday, January 6, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. at the Township Municipal Building, 890 West Lincoln Highway, Coatesville, PA.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Supervisor Kathy O'Doherty. Those in attendance were Kathy O'Doherty, Carmen Boyd, and Sharon Yates. Supervisor Patrice Proctor participated by phone. Supervisor Christopher Lehenky was absent. A moment of silence was observed followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Township Manager Carol Lewis called for nominations to be opened for Chairman/woman of the Board of Supervisors.

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN/WOMAN:

Ms. O'Doherty nominated Patrice Proctor for Chairwoman. The motion was seconded by Ms. Yates. There being no other nominations for Chair, a vote was taken to appoint Patrice Proctor as Chairwoman of the Board of Supervisors which passed unanimously.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE CHAIRMAN/WOMAN:

Ms. Yates nominated Kathy O'Doherty for Vice Chairwoman. The motion was seconded by Ms. Boyd. There being no other nominations for Vice Chair, a vote was taken to appoint Kathy O'Doherty as Vice Chairwoman of the Board of Supervisors which passed unanimously.

At this time, the meeting was turned over to Vice Chairwoman Kathy O'Doherty.

ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS:

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. O'Doherty, to appoint the slate as presented as follows:

Manager/Treasurer - Carol R. Lewis

Chief of Police - Brian A. Newhall

Secretary- Janis A. Rambo

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer - Cynthia R. King

Solicitor - Unruh, Turner, Burke & Frees

Engineer - Pennoni Associates, Inc.

Road Master - Christopher Lehenky

Vacancy Board - Abby Garzia

Building/Zoning Inspector & Codes Enforcement Officer - LTL Consultants, Ltd.

Animal Control Officer - Chester County SPCA

Emergency Management Coordinator - Joe Sciandra

Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator - Nichole Sciandra

Fire Marshall - Mike McWilliams

Planning Commission – Tom Burt – to a four-year term to expire 12/31/23

EAC (Environmental Advisory Council) - Kate Kelly to a three-year term to expire 12/31/22

2 Minutes of January 6, 2020 Organization Meeting

Western Chester County of Governments delegate and alternate (WCOG) - Kathy O'Doherty; Patrice Proctor backup

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Michael Arena to the vacant Planning Commission seat to expire on December 31, 2022. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Chief Brian Newhall as **Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator.** The motion passed unanimously.

Appointments by Resolution:

Appointment of Member to the Zoning Hearing Board – Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to adopt Resolution 2019-01, a resolution appointing Marjorie Runk to serve as a member of the Valley Township Zoning Hearing Board for the term of three-years (1/6/20 to 12/31/22). The motion passed unanimously.

Appointment of Auditor – Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to adopt Resolution 2019-02, a Resolution appointing a firm, BBD, LLP, to replace the elected Township Auditors as to certain statutorily authorized duties for one year. The Resolution was adopted unanimously. The motion passed unanimously.

At this time, Michael J. Ellis, P.E. of Pennoni Associates, the reappointed Township Engineer, and Amanda Sundquist, Esquire, of Unruh Turner Buke and Frees, the reappointed Township Solicitor, joined the Board.

Department Head Liaison Board Appointments:

The following motions were made for Board Department Liaisons:

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Patrice Proctor as the Board Liaison to Parks and Recreation. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Patrice Proctor as the Board Liaison for Building and Administration. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Proctor made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Kathy O'Doherty as the Board Liaison for Health and Safety. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Boyd made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Christopher Lehenky as the Board Liaison for Roads/Trash/Recycle/Water/Sewer. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Kathy O'Doherty as the Board Liaison for Billing and Finance. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Sharon Yates as the Board Liaison for Land Development and Codes. The motion passed unanimously.

The following motions were made for Board Department Alternate Liaisons:

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Sharon Yates and Carmen Body as alternate liaisons to Parks and Recreation. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Boyd made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Kathy O'Doherty as alternate liaison for Building and Administration. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to appoint Carmen Boyd as alternate liaison for Safety. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Patrice Proctor as alternate liaison for Billing and Finance. The motion passed unanimously.

It was noted that Carol Lewis will assist Ms. Yates with Land Development and Codes.

Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to appoint Kathy O'Doherty as Board Liaison for Special Projects. The motion passed unanimously.

Bank Depositories:

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yates, to designate the Township bank depositories as Coatesville Savings Bank, PSDLAF, Key Bank, and PLIGIT. The motion passed unanimously.

Consideration to set amount of Treasurer's Bond:

Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to set the Treasurer's Bond at \$3 million. The motion passed unanimously.

Schedule of Meetings:

After review of the calendar, Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to set the 2020 meeting dates of the Township as follows with all meetings to be held at the Township Public Meeting Room:

<u>Regular Board of Supervisor Meetings</u> – first and third Tuesdays of each month, at 7:30 p.m. with the following exceptions: second meeting in May will be held on May 12, 2020; and the first meeting in November will be held on Thursday, November 5, 2020.

<u>Planning Commission Meetings</u> – second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

<u>Parks & Recreation</u> – fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

4 Minutes of January 6, 2020 Organization Meeting

Environmental Advisory Council – third Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Boyd inquired about the establishment of a Historical Committee or Commission. Ms. Sundquist noted that formal documents would be required to establish a Commission which would be done by Ordinance and registered with the state. It was recommended to start as a Committee. Ms. Yates made a motion, seconded by Ms. Boyd, to give direction to establish, by Resolution which will be prepared, a Historic Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

There being no further business, the 2020 Organization Meeting was closed at 7:42 p.m.

Janis A. Rambo Township Secretary